主题

好友

积分

新手上路

跳转到指定楼层
楼主
发表于 2005-3-2 15:24:17 |只看该作者 |倒序浏览
Dear all mates in this forum,

it just occurred to me to come to this forum, and have read very carefully of all of the postings here. thus i have some comments and suggestions for your kind ref.

i have been doing international trade for 14 years, and proudly to be an expert in this, but now i have already switched my focus to procurement management, supply management.

the reasons are:

1.       International trade has become less important as a vertical, but rather a subsidiary to all industries. As more and more opening we are to the western world, most of the new technologies, and soft wares, ideas and idiosyncrasies have come to us. International trade is never a simply export/import agent. Luckily my experiences has been dealing with wal-mart and other retailers for the past 10 years, thus having the chances to learn from them a lot of new technologies to Chinese companies, such as CPFR, Kaizen technologies which originated from Japan, picking to light, cross docking which has distinguished wal-mart to k-mart. So under today’s’ circumstance, we must step out of the merely simple and dull international trade aspect, but to absolve more of those tech, and make them into usage, thus we can make improvements in this field, in your career, otherwise, you will never be able to be prompted to a higher level in a MNC.
2.       Today a lot of new aspects have emerged with international trade, such as quality management, esp. the 6 sigma, to realize lean production, shorter lead-time, and better quality, continuous improvement of an corp.; project management, such that all big projects should be carried out in the form and procedures of projects; supply chain management, in which strategic sourcing, procurement management, e-commerce are the most important issues to discuss. Without those competencies, my mates, you will not be expected to accelerate to a higher level.